

Shana Kelley, PhD
Neena B. Schwartz Professor of Chemistry and Biomedical
Engineering
Northwestern University

Shana is an internationally renowned researcher that has developed innovative and translational methods for tracking molecular and cellular analytes with unprecedented sensitivity. Her novel approaches integrate nanoscience, bioanalytical science, and engineering. The Kelley Research Group works in a variety of areas spanning biophysical/bioanalytical chemistry, chemical biology, and nanotechnology. Shana joined Northwestern University in 2021 as the Neena B. Schwartz Professor of Chemistry and Biomedical Engineering in the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics at Northwestern. She is also a member of the Chemistry of Life Processes Institute, International Institute for Nanotechnology, and Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center. Previously, she was a University Professor at the University of Toronto. Shana received her PhD from the California Institute of Technology and was an NIH postdoctoral fellow at the Scripps Research Institute.

Shana's work has been recognized with a variety of distinctions, including being named one of "Canada's Top 40 under 40", a NSERC E.W.R. Steacie Fellow, the 2011 Steacie Prize, and the 2016 NSERC Brockhouse Prize. She has also been recognized with a Gugglenheim Fellowship, the ACS Inorganic Nanoscience Award, the Pittsburgh Conference Achievement Award, an Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship, a Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar award, an NSF CAREER Award, a Dreyfus New Faculty Award, and was also named a "Top 100 Innovator" by MIT's Technology Review.

Shana is an inventor of over 50 patents issued worldwide. She is a founder of four life sciences companies, GeneOhm Sciences (acquired by Becton Dickinson in 2005), Xagenic Inc. (acquired by General Atomics in 2017), Arma Biosciences, and CTRL Therapeutics. She serves as a Board Director for the Fight Against Cancer Innovation Trust (FACIT). She is an Associate Editor for ACS Sensors and an Editorial Advisory Board Member for the Journal of the American Chemical Society and ACS Chemical Biology.